Friday June 9th, 2023
| AESOP  | EmbraceIEP  | ISBE  | St. Clair ROE  | Email Search  | Teacher Ease  |
Governance & Operation

BASSC adheres to a two-tier governance and operational system per its Article of Joint Agreement (revised and ratified in 2012). Per Illinois statute, the primary oversight of BASSC falls to its Governing Board. In 2012, the Articles of Joint Agreement, which is the document that binds its 23 member districts was revised. 

The following are excerpts from these articles:

The Governing Board is composed of one Board of Education member from each of its 23 member districts who have been selected to serve as a Governing Board member. The Governing Board is authorized to delegate to its Executive Board the authority to manage particular operations of the cooperative, but always has the right to reserve to itself the full authority to continue to govern BASSC.

The Governing Board shall seek the advice of the Executive Board on matters pertaining to employment and budget.

The Governing Board shall appoint an Executive Board, consisting of each of the superintendents of the 23 member districts. It shall also appoint a Chair Person, a Vice Chair Person , and a Member at Large. The Executive Board shall likewise appoint a Chair Person and a Vice Chair, and shall carry out management functions of the day-to-day operations of BASSC. The Executive Board meetings are monthly. 

In accordance with the Open Meetings Act, the minutes of open meetings are available for public inspection within seven days after they are approved by the respective Boards of the Belleville Area Special Services Cooperative, and will be kept on the BASSC website for no less than 60 days.


The Governing Board and the Executive Board members are as follows:

Governing Board


Executive Board

Connie Elmore 
Wesclin Community Unit District #3

Pamela Leggans
Lebanon School District #9

Kristin Geis
Mascoutah School District #19

Ron Musenbrock
St. Libory School District #30

Jim Heil
Marissa Community Unit District #40

Katie Main
New Athens School District #60

Andy Bittle
Freeburg School District #70

Vicky Staub
Freeburg H.S. District #77

Ken Davis
Shiloh Village School District #85

Rebecca Huller
O’Fallon School District #90
Chairperson Governing Board

Laurie Burian
Central of O’Fallon District #104

Tom Bostick
Pontiac-Holliday School District #105

Carla Randolph
Grant Comm. Consolidated District #110

Doug Gray
Wolf Branch School District #113

Sean McKee
Whiteside School District #115

Rosetta Davis
High Mount School District #116

Kenya Logan
Belleville School District #118

Karen Kunz
Belle Valley School District #119

Renee Pipher
Smithton School District #130

Gary Huwer
Millstadt School District #160

Robert Phillips
Harmony-Emge School District #175
Vice-Chairperson Governing Board

Barb Ducey
Signal Hill School District #181

Carol Eckert
Belleville H.S. District #201



Mrs. Jennifer Filyaw, Superintendent
Wesclin Community Unit District #3
Chairperson Executive Board

Mr. Patrick Keeney, Superintendent
Lebanon Community Unit District #9

Dr. Craig Fiegel, Superintendent
Mascoutah Community Unit District #19

Dr. Thomas Rude, Superintendent
St. Libory Consolidated District #30

Mr. Jeffrey Strieker, Superintendent
Marissa Community Unit District #40

Mr. Brian Karraker, Superintendent
New Athens Community Unit District #60

Mrs. Tomi Diefenbach, Superintendent
Freeburg Comm. Cons. District #70

Mr. Greg Frerking, Superintendent
Freeburg High School District #77

Mr. Dale Sauer, Superintendent
Shiloh Village School District #85

Mrs. Carrie Hruby, Superintendent
O’Fallon Community Cons. District #90

Mrs. Dawn Elser, Superintendent
Central of O’Fallon School #104

Dr. Julie Brown, Superintendent
Pontiac/Wm. Holliday District #105

Mr. Matt Stines, Superintendent
Grant Comm. Consolidated District #110

Mr. Scott Harres, Superintendent
Wolf Branch District #113

Mr. Mark Heuring, Superintendent
Whiteside School District #115

Mrs. Beth Horner, Superintendent
High Mount District #116

Dr. Ryan Boike, Superintendent
Belleville Public Schools #118

Mr. R. Dane Gale, Superintendent
Belle Valley School District #119

Dr. Ryan Wamser, Superintendent
Smithton Community Cons. District #130

Dr. Brad Landgraf, Superintendent
Millstadt Consolidated District #160

Mr. David Deets, Superintendent
Harmony-Emge School District #175

Mr. Kelly Bohnenstiehl, Superintendent
Signal Hill School District #181

Dr. Brian Mentzer, Superintendent
Belleville High School District #201


2022-2023 Board Meeting Dates
Click Here to view the Governing Board Agendas & Minutes
Click Here to view the Executive Board Agendas & Minutes

IDEA Part B Grants
IDEA Part B Directions
FACTS Approval Procedures
Tuition Program Cost Information Sheet and Individual Care Aide Worksheet
IDEA Expenditure Report

    Copyright © 2023 BASSC